Friday, May 9, 2014

[Exchange] How to update the Global Address Book in Outlook

When changes occur within the main (Global Address Book) on the Exchange server; computers running Outlook 2007 and 2010 may not automatically receive the updates. When this happens you may be missing new entries, see non-existent entries, or notice incorrect entries. Updating your address book synchronizes the cached Address Book with the Global address book, and may fix instances of mail that is bounced back to the sender.
Please use the steps below to update your Global Address Book.

Outlook 2007

1. In the Tools menu, point to Send/Receive, and then click Download Address Book.

2. In the Offline Address Book dialog box, make sure that the Download changes since last Send/Receive check box is checked.

3. Click OK.
4. Your Outlook Global Address book is now up-to-date.

Outlook 2010

1. Click File Tab, Click on Account Settings, and then click Download Address Book.

2. In the Offline Address Book dialog box, make sure that the Download changes since last Send/Receive check box is checked.

3. Click OK
4. Your Outlook Global Address Book is now up-to-date.

Saturday, April 26, 2014

Cicso ASDM - how to export vpn profile

I'm assuming this is a Windows machine-

Create the profile and test it, then:

Browse to
-the Program Files folder
-Cisco Systems
-VPN Client
-Profiles

You'll see the PCF file you need. Same name!

To import, just move into the same location on your target machine.

Job done!

Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Spell Check in Outlook 2010 not working?

Spell Check in Outlook 2010 not working?

Posted: Tuesday, October 19th, 2010 by Ted
We recently ran across an issue with one of our customers who upgraded only Outlook to 2010 while keeping the rest of Office at 2007. They called in stating that Outlook’s spell checker wasn’t working anymore so Kevin found the fix:
When users upgrade just Outlook, not the whole Office Suite, it doesn’t know where to look for Word as its editor, since it is also looking for Word 2010. This means the auto correct features won’t work. Here is the fix:
All you have to do is copy winword.exe to the office14 folder.
Example:
Copy Winword.exe from here C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office12\
to
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office14
Make sure that you copy, not move the file or there could be other issues that you’ll run across but this will do the trick!

Friday, March 14, 2014

Cisco ASA – Permitting traffic between two interfaces with the same security level

Cisco ASA – Permitting traffic between two interfaces with the same security level

I had to make some network modifications to an ASA to activate another interface to accommodate some storage devices on a separate subnet for management purposes.  The below diagram shows the subnet’s in question.  I needed to configure the two interfaces to allow all interesting traffic to pass bi-directionally between each other.  Here are the commands I used to this rolling.
image
Even though the SERVER and STORAGE interfaces are configured with the same security level of 100 the default behavior of an ASA is to block communication between them.  We can enable communication between these two interfaces with the same security level with the following command:
ASA-CLI (config) # same –security-traffic permit inter-interface
Here is where many people get stuck.  After this command is added many people become baffled that they still cannot ping and pass traffic through.  This is because a “static or dynamic” translation rule is still required.  I added the following two commands to allow all IP traffic to pass bi-directionally.
ASA-CLI (config) # static (server,storage) 192.168.0.0 192.168.0.0 netmask 255.255.255.0
ASA-CLI (config) # static (storage,server) 192.168.2.0 192.168.2.0 netmask 255.255.255.0
At this point you should be good to go.
-Justin Vashisht (3cVguy)

Thursday, March 13, 2014

Outlook 2007: Remove or Disable RSS Feed Support

The integration between Outlook 2007 and Internet Explorer’s RSS system will slow down Outlook 2007. If you do not want to use Outlook 2007 for your feed reader or aggregator, here is how to remove this feature from Outlook.

Sadly, there is no command, option, or registry hack to hide the RSS icon or section in Outlook. We can, however, pretty much disable it.
If you do not want to use Outlook 2007′s RSS Feed Reader feature, you should remove it. It slows down Outlook. This also shows you how to remove the RSS feeds from the Outlook sidebar.
The main reason Outlook is made slower by RSS feeds is that Outlook will need time to sync with IE7′s feeds. By disabling this sync, you will improve Outlook’s performance.
Disable Outlook’s RSS Sync:
    1. Open Outlook 2007
    2. Click the Tools menu
    3. Click Options
    4. Select the Other tab
    5. Click the Advanced Options button
    6. Uncheck Sync RSS feeds to the Common Feed List
    7. Click OK X 2
Woo-hoo. That will speed up Outlook. If you want to remove the RSS subscriptions from Outlook, you may wish to do this following.
Mass Remove Feed Subscriptions from Outlook:
    1. Click Tools menu and then Options again.
    2. Select the poorly named Mail Setup tab
    3. Click the Data Files button
    4. Click the RSS Feeds tab
    5. Click the first feed and scroll down to the bottom of the feed list
    6. Hold the SHIFT key and click the last feed. All feeds should now be selected.
    7. Click the Remove button
    8. Confirm you want them all deleted.
Now we’ll need to delete the old feed content as well…
    9. Expand the RSS Feed folder under Personal Folders
    10. Select each feed and press Delete. You’ll have to confirm the delete.
    11. Repeat ad nauseum until all are gone.
     
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Unsubscribe from an RSS Feed

At any time you can stop receiving, or unsubscribe from, a Really Simple Syndication (RSS) Feed. You can either cancel the feed and remove all items from that feed in Microsoft Office Outlook 2007, or cancel the feed and keep items downloaded from the feed.
 Note   If you want to keep the RSS Feed, but delete the downloaded items, open the folder for the RSS Feed, select the items to be deleted and then press DELETE.

Cancel an RSS Feed and remove all content from the feed

Delete the folder associated with the RSS Feed. Doing so will delete all of your downloaded items in the folder and cancel the RSS Feed.
  1. In Mail, in the Navigation Pane, expand the RSS Feeds folder.
Expanding the RSS Feeds folder
  1. Select the RSS Feed that you want to delete.
  2. Press DELETE.
  3. When prompted to confirm the deletion, click Yes.

Cancel an RSS Feed and keep all content from the feed

  1. On the Tools menu, click Account Settings.
  2. Click the RSS Feeds tab.
  3. Under Feed Name, click the feed you want cancel, and then click Remove.
 Note   To cancel multiple RSS Feeds, press and hold CTRL as you click RSS Feed names. This allows you to select multiple RSS Feeds.
Previously downloaded items from the feed are not deleted.

     
     

Thursday, March 6, 2014

Different UPS Definition Offline, Line-Interactive , Online

Different UPS Definition

 
Offline UPS
The UPS which has transformer time, BUT NO automatic voltage regulation (AVR) function. Its output will be square wave
Line-interactive UPS
The UPS which has transformer time, AND automatic voltage regulation (AVR) function is built-in. Its output can be either square wave or sine wave.
Online UPS
The UPS which has NO transformer time, AND automatic voltage regulation (AVR) function is built-in. It only produces sine wave output.
Different Type of UPS Comparison

Series Name Type Output Wave Transfer Time AVR PCB Communication Rated Power
Soho Econ offline Square >6 ms - Single Side - 500VA
Braver Line-interactive Square 2-6 ms Yes Single Side RS232 400VA, 600VA, 800VA
Braver Pro Line-interactive Square 2-6 ms Yes Single Side RS232 1KVA, 1.4KVA, 2KVA
Centrio Online Sine 0 ms Yes Single Side RS232, SNMP, RJ45, DB9 1KVA, 2KVA, 3KVA
Centrio DSP Online Sine 0 ms Yes Double Side RS232, SNMP, RJ45, DB9 6KVA, 10KVA, 15KVA, 20KVA
Sigma Online Sine 0 ms Yes Double Side RS232, SNMP, RJ45, DB9 4KVA, 6KVA
Vector 15KSL Online Sine 0 ms Yes Double Side RS232, SNMP, RJ45, DB9 15KVA
Vector 30KSL Online Sine 0 ms Yes Double Side RS232, SNMP, RJ45, DB9 30KVA
Vector Online Sine 0 ms Yes Double Side RS232, SNMP, RJ45, DB9 15KVA, 30KVA, 45KVA, 60KVA 75KVA, 90KVA, 105KVA, 120KVA
centrio 3c3 Online Sine 0 ms Yes Double Side RS232, SNMP, RJ45, DB9 20-80KVA

Wednesday, February 19, 2014

The installation of PGP Desktop has not been initialized or the initialization settings have been deleted or damaged

This installation of PGP has not been initialized...

Article:TECH149607  |  Created: 2009-10-28  |  Updated: 2011-02-06  |  Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH149607
Article Type
Technical Solution

Product(s)

Languages

Issue




When attempting to open PGP Desktop in a PGP Universal Server managed environment, you receive the following error message and PGP Desktop fails to open:

This installation of PGP has not been initialized or the initialization settings have been deleted or damaged.

Solution




This error can occur when the PGP preference files on the computer have become corrupted on PGP Desktop clients. To resolve this issue, stop the PGP Services and delete the PGP preference files. When PGP Desktop is restarted, the preference files will be automatically re-created.

Use the following steps to delete the PGP preference files:

  1. Stop the PGP services by clicking the PGP Tray icon in the Windows system tray and then click Exit PGP Services.
  2. Browse to the following folder for your operating system:

    Windows XP - C:\Documents and Settings\%user name%\Application Data\PGP Corporation\PGP

    Windows Vista - C:\Users\%user name%\AppData\Roaming\PGP Corporation\PGP

    Windows 7 - C:\Users\%user name%\AppData\Roaming\PGP Corporation\PGP

    Note: If the Application Data/AppData folders are hidden, you must change the folder options for Windows Explorer to show hidden files and folders. In Windows Explorer, click Tools > Folder Options then click the View tab. In the Advanced Settings window, click Show hidden files, folders, and drives then click OK.
  3. Delete the PGPprefs and PGPpolicy files.
  4. Click Start > All Programs > Startup and then select PGPtray.exe
  5. If prompted, enter your license information and authorize the PGP Desktop software.